Sandra Ragusa


Sandra Ragusa is a charismatic personality on the classical conducting scene. Coming from an extensive background both as a conductor and a flutist, she brings the spirit of a true performer to the stage.

Known for her creative programming and strong interpretation, Ms. Ragusa has been invited to conduct orchestras on three continents including recent guest conducting engagements in Poland, Austria, Germany, Bulgaria, Romania, Ukraine, China, and Japan.
Ms. Ragusa is highly regarded by both musicians and audience members for her thoughtful and energetic presence on the podium.

Recent News

  • Sandra conducts the American premiere of – Yuko Uebayashi – Les trois bouquets pour l’orchestre de flutes in Washington DC with DCflutes.
  • Sandra conducts in Vilnius, Lithuania
  • Sandra conducts in Helsinki, Finland
  • Sandra conducts in Kraków, Poland


Upcoming Events

Sunday, March 12, 2017 at 3:30 PM
DCflutes at the New York Flute Fair
Uebayashi: Trois Bouquets Orchestre pour Flutes
Feld: Musique Concertante
Barber: Adagio

Sunday, March 26, 2017 at 7:00 PM
Inspired by Nature, Montgomery Philharmonic
Borodin: In the Steppes of Central Asia
Vaughan Williams: The Lark Ascending
Holst: The Planets, excerpts

Sunday, May 21, 2017 at 7:00 PM
Inspired by America, Montgomery Philharmonic
Still: Afro-American Symphony
Larsen: Dreames and Imaginations
Copland: Rodeo
Poelking: Terra Nocte

Recent Events

Thursday, February 2, 2017 at 7:00 PM
Inspired by Youth, Montgomery Philharmonic
Márquez: Danzón No. 2
Gershwin: Strike Up the Band
Diemer: Youth Overture
Meyer: Joust
Williams: Fiddles on Fire
Stalter: Rampage
Swearingen: Blue Ridge Saga
Newbold: Fire Dance
Balmages: Ice Sculptures

Sunday, December 4, 2016 at 4:00 PM
Montgomery Philharmonic with the Central Maryland Chorale
Vaughan Williams: Hodie (This Day)
Bass: A Feast of Carols

Sunday, October 23, 2016 at 7 PM
Inspired by Dance, Montgomery Philharmonic
RespighiAncient Aires and Dances, Suite III
Ravel: Le Tombeau de Couperin
Dvorák: Slavonic Dance No. 1 for orchestra in C major and No. 8 in G minor
Márquez: Danzón No. 2 


© 2017, Sandra M. Ragusa
Photography by Harvey Levine and Michael Ray